Second Harvest 2011

Thank you guys so much for your comments last week! I really appreciate them! And thanks to Daphne from Daphne’s Dandelions for hosting Harvest Monday!

Last week I picked some cut-and-come-again lettuce from my balcony – the first balcony harvest this year! I took a picture with my phone but couldn’t find the SD card reader to transfer it to the computer… but let me tell you, it was delicious! I also harvested a lot from the parents garden. But like last year, the bok choy is already starting to bolt! We’ve had some warmer days about two or three weeks ago, then it got cold and rainy again – not exactly what I’d call bolting weather. Any advice on how to prevent bok choy from bolting?

Clockwise from behind/left: Wild garlic (Allium ursinum, a little hard to recognize from the small picture) for pesto, lovage for salad dressings, "Easter egg" radishes, bok choy, lilacs for sirup, Asian greens and rhubarb in the middle. Please ignore the mess in the background.

6 Responses

  1. Everything looks so good. We have wild garlic growing all over the place. We’ve never harvested it though. How large do you let it grow before you harvest it?

    • The leaves were about 4 to 6 inches when I harvested it. You should try it, it’s one of my favourite spring herbs!

  2. Beautiful harvest. Bok Choy always bolts for me. It does a lot better in the fall though than in the spring. But it still bolts in the fall too given enough time. I find my white stem bok choys bolt faster than my green stemmed ones. I don’t know if that holds true for all bok choy or not. Usually when it bolts it is still good eating. I usually pick it as soon as I see it start to send up that flower head.

    • Thanks for sharing your experience, Daphne! I might try growing it again in fall just to see if there’s any difference.

  3. You’ve still got wild garlic? Here, it’s all flowering and going yellow – sooo long to wait now until next year!
    And lilac-flower syrup? You learn something new every day!

    • The wild garlic grows in full shade, so it’s really behind… The lilac sirup didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to, so I’m not gonna blog about it. Anyway, the next project will be dandelion sirup!

Leave a Reply

