Harvest Monday Week 37

Thanks to Daphne from Daphne’s Dandelions for hosting Harvest Monday!

I was away last week for a few days, so there were bigger, but fewer harvests. The hot peppers are at their peak. I think from now on everything will ripen slowlyer. The Venus von Willendorf pepper (NOT hot!) is having a hiatus, while I got a wave of fish peppers. Time for the plant portraits, isn’t it? I’m mostly drying the peppers now, but will try to make pickles. I’ve never made pickles before.

The tomatoes are mostly on their way out. They are still producing, but less. Tumbling Tom is a disappointment so far, the fruits took forever to ripen, the taste is okay, but not great, and there are only about 5 fruits ripening per week. The cherry tomatoes are still my favourites. Even now, they are reliably ripening and taste very good!

I also started my “fall garden”, which consists of mircogreens, sprouts (indoors) and cress (outdoors). I’ll include these into the tally from now on.

The eggplant failed again twice to set fruit – it has now lost 4 blossoms. Dad’s comment: “Yes, they sometimes do that. Means that somethings missing, fertilizer or light or so.”

Anyway, this weeks harvest begins with wheat sprouts:

I have an almost infinite supply of wheat and rye. I bought the grains once to use them as rice subsitutes but they have to be cooked forever and will be still hard. So I’m sprouting them! Wheat tastes sweet and buttery. Then I went away for a few days, when I came back, I harvested this:

Clockwise: Tumbling Tom tomatoes, Red Mushroom peppers, Cherrybomb and Tennessee Tear Drop peppers, Venus von Willendorf peppers, Fish peppers, Riot peppers, cherry tomatoes. And a tiny harvest today because I overlooked some fruits yesterday:

Harvest in numbers:

Hot peppers: 331 fruits, 1077 g = 38,5 oz = 2,4 lbs

Tomatoes: 144 fruits, 2417 g = 86 oz = 5,3 lbs

Sprouts: 22 g = 0,8 oz

About 7,8 lbs by now!

7 Responses

  1. Really pretty peppers. I ought to go out and harvest some. I wish I had more.

  2. It looks like you made a red collage from your harvest!! NICE!

  3. Great to see ripe peppers – ours had to all be picked as green peppers this year because the plants were going down with a fungal infection. Wheat sprouts look tasty!

  4. What a beautiful variety of peppers, and tomatoes, too! They all look like they are competing for the best shade of red.

  5. Hmmm, never thought of wheat sprouts. I may need to sample that!

  6. Nice red harvest. Wheat sprouts sound lovely. Sprouting is such a great microgardening technique!

  7. Thank you all very much!!! I appreciate your compliments! Sprouts are really easy and wheat tastes way better sprouted than cooked 😉

Leave a Reply

