Harvest Monday week 36

It’s Harvest Monday, hosted by Daphne from Daphne’s Dandelions!

More nice shades of red this week with two “firsts”:

Peppers and the first Tumbling Tom tomato! + 8 cherry toms, eaten before pictured

Lots of peppers!

Cherry toms

The first Red Mushroom peppers! Plus one "Cuore di bue from Lampedusa" tomato not pictured. It was picked green and left to ripen on the counter

Harvest in numbers:

Hot peppers: 279 fruits, 890 g = 31,7 oz = almost 2 lbs

Tomatoes: 128 fruits, 2254 g = 80,5 oz = 5 lbs

About 3,15 kg / 7 lbs by now!

8 Responses

  1. Beautiful peppers and tomatoes! I envy your reds and oranges. My garden harvests are always so predominantly green and it is my goal to have more of a colorful harvest next year. Yeah, it sounds a bit superficial, but I want some color in my garden! 🙂

    • I think your harvest is beautiful! But I totally agree, I want a rainbow of colors on my balcony as well! It’s a goal for me too.

  2. Seven pounds of harvest growing from balcony is no easy task, those tomatoes and peppers are beautiful. The mushroom pepper looks interesting, is it hot?

    • Thank you mac! The pepper is hot, but it’s not incredibly and inedibly hot. It’s got a thin skin and a kind of “fruity” taste. I like it a lot! I’m planning to post about each variety I’m growing, would be nice if you come to check here again!

  3. I wish I had managed to get some of my peppers ripened like you have successfully done – but I had to harvest all of them green because the cool/damp weather was causing disease in the plants and they were going down.

    • Thank you for the compliment! Don’t worry, my dad grew the same peppers I did in ground and had some problems with them as well! Some where even molding from the inside because it was just too wet. Actually I don’t really taste a big difference between red and green peppers 😉

  4. I find that a lot of cherry tomatoes never reach my scale. But I eat them in the garden because they split when I pick them. I wouldn’t want them to go to waste. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

    • I think you are right! Would be a shame not to eat them just because they split. I’m planning to grow only cherry tomatoes next year, because this plant has produces by far the most!

Leave a Reply

