This week’s harvest

The tomatoes are coming in at a steady pace again after a small hiatus during the last two weeks. I’m very happy with the production of the cherry tomato plant – and with the taste! The beautiful, pinkish Italian heirlooms “Coure di bue from Lampedusa” (as I call them) are producing the biggest tomatoes. They taste great! The oval tomatoes are coming in just one by one, the fruits are rather small. Not so happy with them, neither with the striped tomatoes, they’ve failed to produce since July. I might throw them out very soon. The red round ones are on a hiatus, but there are still some fruits on the plant, so I’m hopeful. I’m also awaiting the first “Tumbling Tom” tomato this week.

Harvest from 30th August, a substitute for yesterday's harvest. I ate it before I remembered to take a picture

I’m really, really content with the hot peppers. They come in reliably at a steady pace. Only two kinds haven’t ripened by now: red cheese and red mushroom. Especially “Riot” is producing great. They are the classic, thin, long hot peppers. I dry them in a kind of Ristra. Many “Fish pepper” plants are on their way out due to spider mites (?), but I don’t really mind, they’ve produced well and taste nice when green too. Overall I’m surprised by how well the hot peppers are doing!

Today's harvest with some marigolds

I harvest two or three colanders like the above every week. Besides the peppers and toms I harvest a lot of marigolds (for tea) and some herbs like basil, sage, rosemary, thyme, cinnamon basil, scented pelargonium, mint. I don’t weigh them – maybe next year! I’m still waiting for my first egg plant. Two flowers broke off, the third seems to be pollinated successfully – I just want one fruit, that would really be enough, I just want to prove it’s possible. Keep your fingers crossed!

Harvest in numbers:

Hot peppers: 210 fruits, 645 g = 23 oz = 1.4 lbs

Tomatoes: 104 fruits, 1940 g = 69 oz = 4.3 lbs

More than 2,5 kg / 5.7 lbs by now (if I calculated it right).

I’m participating for the first time in Harvest Monday, hosted by Daphne from Daphne’s Dandelions! Thank you for inventing this great day!

8 Responses

  1. Congrats on your first Harvest Monday post! You have a very nice and “red” harvest here this week. πŸ™‚ I’m still waiting for my cayenne peppers to turn red. I tasted my first green cayenne this weekend, and oh boy it was spicy. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your eggplant’s success.

    • Thank you! Yes, peppers take forever to change color! I love cayenne – they have a great taste. I’ll hop over to your blog and have a look!

  2. Tell me why I didn’t know marigolds were edible before I pulled all but one of my nice healthy chemical free plants. Thanks for that tidbit of information, and I’m glad you joined the harvest day.

    • Many people don’t know it – I’m planning a post on marigolds. They are really easy… and you could actually get enough flowers from that one plant! Just pick one every other day or every three days, till first frost you’ll have a little jar full!

      • How do you brew your tea. I looked on the internet and didn’t really see proportions and all of that.

      • I use the marigolds to add to herbal teas and make a “homemade blend”. They give the tea a nice, yellowish hue and kind of tangy-floral taste…hard to describe, but they taste a little like they smell, just not so strong… in general, use 1/2 – 1 tsp of dried leaves per cup, a little more when fresh. You should give it a try, but be warned, it’s not everybody’s taste πŸ˜‰ Make sure to use just the petals! Cut them off the green “seed pod” (don’t know what it’s called) where they grow out of… you can actually use the leaves as well, as a spice for meat dishes. I’ve never tried it…but there are special marigold varieties (mexican I think) used as spice or for tea, but it works with basically every variety.

  3. I’m crossing my fingers for you. I hope you get your eggplant this year.

  4. Wonderful! I forget to take photos too -and just get too excited to eat what’s fresh!

Leave a Reply

