New roommates

Once upon a time, two lady bugs found their way onto my balcony. One of them vanished the next day, but the other one stuck around quite a long time. I transferred it from one aphid infested plant to another, and trust me, it had some good meals out there. After some time this lady bug vanished as well.

Today I realized that my lavender in heavily infested by aphids. Who thought lavenders are resistent to aphids? Think again. They enjoyed it and must have been there for quite some time, but just on the back side of the plant (the side facing the wall), so I didn’t spot them earlier. After some brushing of I took the plant to the shower, where masses of aphids came off. I left the plant and did some cleaning on the balcony. As I sat by the table for a break, some gross black bug appeared on my leg. I panicked, of course. As I filled the watering can, I saw another of these bugs swimming there. And suddenly it hit me: lady bug larva! I rescued it and put it immeadiatly onto the lavender. Then I searched the balcony for the other larva, found it and put it on the lavender (showering only got part of the aphids) as well! There they are, munching happily.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

