Seeds sown in week 15

Last week I sowed the following seeds on the balcony (on Saturday, 17th)

  • radish in the pot with nasturtiums

Radish is said to grow quite good in containers. There are different varieties, I sowed “Aspern”, which are rather big. They are already sprouting and seem to like the cold weather. I started the nasturtiums indoors, but they’ve already been outside for about three weeks. They were quite leggy, but they recuperate and become bushy. Nasturtiums are one of the easiest plants I know. They have beautiful flowers, and are edible as well. My variety is small and bushy, non clinging, the flowers are supposed to look rather “normal”, as you are used to, which means yellow, orange, red. The only disadvantage is that they attract aphids. Some gardener use this as advantage and plant the nasturtiums near other delicate plants, to attract to aphids to the nasturtiums and away from the other plant. I’m not so sure whether that really works…

  • cilantro

Is said to not mind the cold weather. Hasn’t sprouted yet. I’ve never grown this before and am not really familiar with the taste of cilantro, so I’m looking forward to the first harvest!

  • lovage

Many non-central-europeans don’t know it, but pu-leeeeease try it, it’s great! It tastes like a famous soup spice called “Maggi” in german, so some people call lovage Maggi-herb. You can put it (lovage) in soups, which adds a spicy taste. I personally like to put it into salads. As it’s name says, it’s lovely! The plant can grow up to 1 metre high and is perennial. Not yet sprouting.

  • mesclun

Forgot about the variety, but it’s already sprouting! I plan to harvest only the outer leaves, so it will grow again for a second and maybe third harvest.

  • arugula

Same as with mesclun. I plan to let some plants of the greens bolt, to get the pretty flowers and seeds for next year. Yes, they are sprouting!

The weather is still rather cold, especially in the morning and at night, that might be the reason why the herbs aren’t sprouting yet. I plan to keep you up-to-date on what’s growing with photos every Saturday. Plus I’m gonna show you what has started indoors and what I sowed this week. By now, the focus is more on edible than on mediterranean – it’s just so much fun!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

